101 Bible Secrets
Bible Secret Number 24 

The Seven Churches of Paul

Audio read by Tom Parks -  MP3
The Byte Show Interview - MP3

More Byte Show Interviews...

In the proper New Testament manuscripts we find that the Book of Hebrews occurs after Second Thessalonians and before First Timothy, thereby identifying it with an epistle of Paul. With the Book of Hebrews, we have Paulís corpus of books being 14 in all. Out of those 14 (2 times 7), how many of them were written to local congregations (ekklesias) scattered around the Gentile world? Some may be surprised at the number.

There were seven ekklesias: 1) Romans, 2) 1st and 2nd Corinthians, 3) Galatians, 4) Ephesians, 5) Philippians, 6) Colossians, and 7) 1st and 2nd Thessalonians. Early commentators called attention to these seven areas for the ekklesias of Paul and said they were designed around the number seven to show completeness and finality, as well as to equate in a symbolic way with the seven ekklesias mentioned in the Book of Revelation in chapters 2 and 3.

Click here to order the print version of: 101 Bible Secrets That Christians Do Not Know

Go to ASK Home Page •  Print Page

© 1976-2023 Associates for Scriptural Knowledge - ASK is supported by freewill contributions